Electing Council By-Wards


  • The City of Eureka has changed the way City Council Members are elected and will switch from an at-large election to a Ward based election system.
  • In 2018, the City new by-ward election system has created new geographic boundaries for the City’s 5 wards.
  • Voters in each ward select one council representative who also lives in that ward.
  • The Mayor will continue to be elected at-large by the voters of Eureka.


How will by-ward elections work?

Voters will only vote for the City Council position up for election in their specific ward.  All five current Council Members will continue to represent the ward that they were elected to until their term ends. At the end of their terms, the council members can run for re-election in the ward that they currently live in.

  • Ward 1:Leslie Castellano, term ends November 2022
  • Ward 2:Kati Moulton, term ends November 2024
  • Ward 3: Natalie Arroyo, term ends November 2022
  • Ward 4: Scott Bauer, term ends November 2024
  • Ward 5: Kim Bergel, term ends November 2022

How do I find out what Ward I live in?

Residents can check the 2018 Ward Map on-line.  If you do not have access to a computer, contact the City Clerk’s Office 707.441.4175 or in person at Eureka City Hall 531 K Street, City Clerk’s Office, Second Floor.

How do I find my polling location?

Voters should check their sample ballot for any changes to the location of their polling place.  Voters can also find their polling location on-line at:  http://votersedge.org/ca

Why do I have a new polling location?

The City of Eureka consolidates its elections with the County of Humboldt who administer all City elections.  The County of Humboldt also administers the elections for special districts who along with the City have district/ward geographical boundaries.  Due to the changes, many precincts have changed for City voters and some voters who reside within a small precinct area, may have a “mail only” option for voting.

What’s the difference between by-ward elections and previous City ward elections?

Previously, councilmembers had to live within the geographical boundaries of their wards, but all registered voters in the City could vote for the candidate.  As of 2018, voters in each ward select one Council representative who must live in that ward.

Why the change?

In 2016, Council placed a question on the ballot asking voters if they wanted to change the ward/at large election method to a by-ward election.  Voters approved the Charter Amendment, (Measure P) by 57.60% of the vote, changing the election method to a by-ward system.

Why did the Wards change?

The previous wards had been created in 1976.  Populations within those wards were uneven, requiring new ward boundaries to be drawn.  The new wards are based on the latest (2010) US Census data and are within 2% of the population mean.

Who created the ward boundaries?

Council appointed a Ward Redistricting Committee comprised of one representative from each of the 5 wards and two members appointed at large by the Mayor. City GIS staff presented several scenarios for the Committee to study and comment on.  Based on the Committee’s recommendation, Council approved the new Ward geographical boundaries and numbered the wards in a counter-clockwise manner.