Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

About The Division

Striving Toward Affordable housing for all

A community cannot flourish without affordable, adequate shelter for its citizens.  The City works to ensure that all residents have access to the variety of housing options needed to thrive and prosper in Humboldt County.  Through our Housing Programs, we strive to see that our neighborhoods are well cared for and maintained. 

All City Housing program eligible properties must be located within the city limits of Eureka.  These programs currently include:

HOUSING REHABILITATION Loan Program:  Offers financial assistance at below-market rates to low -moderate income property owners for health and safety repairs from multiple funding sources (CalHome, Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) and Program Income, HOME Program Grants and Program Income, and LOCAL funds).

STATE RENTAL REHABILITATION Loan Program:  Loan funding available for minor repairs to multi-family residential units.  

CDBG HOMEBUYER Loan Program:  To assist low to moderate income households in realizing the dream of home ownership by providing a deferred payment, second mortgage loan as a down payment to an eligible first mortgage loan (with monthly payments, including property tax and insurance impounding) for qualified homebuyers while funding lasts.

Lead Based Paint Hazard Evaluation and Mitigation Grants:  Many loan programs include grant funds for the evaluation, testing, and mitigation of verified Lead Based Paint Hazards.


Division Staff:

Kristen Raymond, Administrative Assistant/Housing Technician for Economic Development and Housing Division




Melinda Petersen, Housing Projects Manager Economic Development and Housing Division


Telephone: (707) 441-4214

Fax Number: (707) 441-4138 (please specify "Housing" on your cover sheet)

The Housing Division of the Community Development Department is located on the 2nd floor of City Hall, 531 K Street, Eureka, CA  95501-1146

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. to noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Please note that we are closed during the lunch hour.